Planning….

I like to plan. Everything. In fact, making lists is one of my favorite hobbies. Normally when we plan a family vacation I map every detail out. Planning avoids surprises…at least that was my motto.

This year we are embarking on our biggest adventure to date. We leave for Ireland in less than a month. I have our airline tickets. Our lodging is booked. I have our car rental reserved. That is where my firm plans end. Don’t get me wrong, I have tons of ideas but this time I am going to try and be more flexible and just enjoy the time and place. I am hoping to provide updates on our journey so that family and friends can follow along…and it will serve as a journal to help me when it is time to put photos into a book!!!

My children declared that they don’t really like history or museums. Ummm…tough. In the hopes of keeping the kids interested and engaged, I am working on a massive scavenger hunt. It will force them out of their comfort zone, to ask questions, to talk to locals, to learn a little bit about a different culture. However, they won’t know about the scavenger hunt until we get to the airport.

Here are a few sample questions:

Picture of each of you doing an Irish jig.
What letters are in the English language but not in Gaelic?
Autograph from a musician.
Why is turf or peat (from bogs) able to be used for heat when regular dirt can’t be?
Why are there so many round towers? Who built them?
How many roundabouts did we go through in one day? Which day?
Unique town name? Pictures.
What region of Ireland was hardest hit by the Potato Famine?

Now I just have to figure out a prize if they complete it….

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

