Food…

Food is one thing that always seems to be on my mind. (Very detrimental to my diet!) This doesn’t come as a shock to anyone who knows me. Whether it is picking a new recipe to try (which is fun) or answering the question “What’s for dinner?” for the thousandth time, food is ever present.

Normally when we travel we stay at timeshares or hotels with small kitchenettes so that I can cook most of our meals. I bring things from home and supplement with food from the local grocery stores. Our trip to Alaska found us renting an RV with a full kitchen. I loved making macaroni and cheese in the parking lot of Wrangell/St. Elias National Park!! It is convenient and a tremendous help with the food budget. Feeding a family of 5 is not an inexpensive undertaking…especially with 2 growing boys! This trip to Ireland won’t be too much different…except that the local grocery stores will be a fun, new adventure for me. Our plan is to eat 2 meals a day at the rental cottage (or pack a picnic) and have the 3rd meal at a local pub or restaurant.

I don’t know about anyone else’s children but 2 of mine love ranch salad dressing. Not just for salads….on pizza, hamburgers, even meatloaf! While I am really looking forward to different food in Ireland and hopefully finding some new recipes, what I think is going to be the most fun is watching my kids try new things WITHOUT them being covered in ranch dressing. That’s right, there is no ranch dressing in Ireland! What ever are they going to do? I’m not sure but, boy oh boy, am I looking forward to it!

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

