Friends….furry and new

One of the benefits of waking up before the rest of the family is being able to take a quiet walk. The only talking I heard were the young lambs calling to their mothers. Seems like they were looking for breakfast. I wonder if sheep mamas every get tired of hearing “I’m hungry” like I do.

Soaking up the morning sun

My favorite pasture (only a farm kid could have a favorite pasture) here on Sky Road is perched just above D’Arcy Castle. there is one white horse, 10 of so cow/calf combinations and too many sheep to count. I love to hear the lambs and the calves calling. What is really impressive is how they all seem to get along. The calves don’t chase the sheep and the horse doesn’t chase the cows. Of course, the lambs chase each other all around the field!

Unusual friendships

Sometimes where an animal is standing just lends itself to a picture and a caption. “A noble white steed”
D'Arcy Castle arch

There are stone walls where you walk or drive here in Ireland. They line the roads here in Connemara. Some are high enough, or with enough vegetation growing on them, that you can’t see on the other side. Almost like you are being shut out of a secret world on the other side. Then, just as curiosity is getting the better of you, there is a break in the wall and you get a small glimpse of what is on the other side.
A look through to the other sideAn old break in the wall

The internet provided so much information when planning this trip. I loved spending time researching areas and following threads different places to find out about some hidden (or at least hidden to me) gems. I found specialty butchers shops, smokehouses that care more for their products and customers than I have ever witnessed at home but the best thing I found was a friend. I met Kim while looking for things to do in the Clifden area. We struck up a friendship via computer. Kim was gracious enough to enough to invite our whole family to her house in Cashel for tea with her lovely family. I thought that my kids would wear her twin daughters out but my boys met their match!! After tea we went to a local beach for a fun time of playing in the sand…and yes, the frigid North Atlantic!
CashelNew friendsGorteen Beach, Roundstone

Just when I thought that the boys would be tired enough to go to bed a little early (hard when it is still light at 11 pm) Ryan wanted to have a family game of buoy bowling in the grassy pasture in front of the Coastguard Station. Lots of fun. A few soda bottle pins hit but lucky no cow patties bowled through!
Bowling - Mapes style!

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Ireland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

