Pots and Rocks

Sorry this is so far behind the actual trip. I was working on a project when I realized my negligence!

We had admired some pottery that was in our self-catering cottage. It was made locally so we decided to go by the studio of The Bridge Pottery (www.bridgepottery.com). It was a small shop but Mark and Caroline make wonderful things. I had wanted to get a cream pitcher and sugar bowl for my mom and to find a little something for my wonderful neighbors who were chicken-sitting for us. We left with so much more!! I found pitchers and sugar bowls, Sean got a small bird ornament, Ryan got a bowl for his grandma and Dave chose handmade ceramic knobs for our kitchen cupboards. Mark then showed us the studio where Caroline was working. It was great to be able to watch her turn the base of a plate. We got to ask questions, see pieces in various stages of completion and take a look at a new wood-fired kiln that he had just built.

Ireland day 14 001 Ireland day 14 002 Ireland day 14 003

I have my eye on a tea pot that I hope will somehow make it to America for Christmas!
Ireland day 14 005

After we left the pottery, we took the back roads to Rock of Cashel. It is an impressive (cathedral) structure with so much history. We wandered through the building, recognizing some of the carvings of the saints that we had seen earlier at Jerpoint Abbey. When we stepped out of the building the wind caught us by surprise. So did the sight of the Hore Abbey in the distance.
Ireland day 14 066 Ireland day 14 061

Ireland day 14 059 Ireland day 14 047

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Ireland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

