Making memories into something special

Photos…now that you have filled you memory banks and a few memory cards, what do you do with all of those award winning pictures?

You post them to facebook, instagram or put them on your blog, of course! Digital cameras and computers have made it so much easier to take and store pictures than when everyone used film. (I hope that I am not the only one old enough to have shot innumerable rolls of 35mm film!) My computer has almost 20,000 images on it and I am glad that not they are not all printed. The majority of my photos are great for my memories but not worthy of going anywhere further. There are, however, some from every trip or event that I want to do something special with.

There are so many printing options available to amateur photographers but two of my very favorite are Shutterfly (www.shutterfly.com) and Winkflash (www.winkflash.com) Not only do both companies offer great quality, they also offer sale prices!!
blog pics 008

Traveling with a family is expensive so I try to save money throughout the year. I am one who’s always looking for a bargain or a freebie when I can get it.

For large photo books, Winkflash is my top choice. Generally, photo books have a base price for the first 20 pages and then an additional per page price. Numerous times throughout the year, Winkflash offers what they call a flat-rate sale. This means that you can get a 100 page photo book for the base price of a 20 page!! I take my time creating a book on the site and then just wait for a sale.

Shutterfly is my favorite for cards and other items. Their quality can’t be beat…by anything but their sales! I got all of the items below for just shipping costs. Not all at one time but every time they offered a special, I ordered it. One time it was 10 free notecards, another time a free 8×8 photo book (I made it a cookbook), a calendar, a mouse pad, 16×20 print and 10 Christmas cards.

blog pics 004 blog pics 006 blog pics 005
The trick is to make sure that you sign up for e-mail offers and “like” their pages on facebook. Be patient. But when the offers do appear make sure that you check on the expiration date because sometimes the offer is only good for a couple of days.

Have some fun with you pictures…and maybe make a few amazing gifts in the process!

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making memories into something special

  1. Pingback: List for a Successful Family Event | List Producer

Leave a Reply

