Gearing Up

Now that spring has finally sprung, the Mapes family is in full vacation planning mode. Okay…really I am the only one doing any actual planning. My husband gives input once in a while and my kids just ignore all of my jabbering about what we are going to see.

I am in the process of finalizing the itinerary for our summer vacation….Montana, Wyoming and Idaho….but there will be a couple of closer adventures first.

Spring break will find us heading north. Counterintuitive, I know but Niagara County, New York is my home! Ryan is looking forward to taking care of the horses and getting a few trail rides in with his grandma. Sean and Clare are excited to play with, I mean socialize, the schnauzer puppies that their aunt has for sale. I am hoping for a quick trip to the Broadway Market in Buffalo to pick up an Easter surprise for the family that is joining us (in Lynchburg) for Easter brunch.

summer 2013 131
Thankfully, Dave has volunteered to stay home and take care of my 10 new chickens. Well, he has to work but I am choosing to think of it as him being willing to sacrifice for the good of my livestock!

chicks 020

All of us will be going to Washington DC for a weekend trip in late spring. The purpose of our trip? Monuments? Cherry Blossoms? History? Ummmm….we may see all of that but our real purpose is the USA Science and Engineering Festival. Yeah, we are one of those nerdy families!

Do you have any spring trips planned? What about summer vacations?

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gearing Up

Leave a Reply

