I’m Adopting!!!

Don’t get all excited and start spreading rumors on social media. This Easter I am adopting some ideas from other cultures. My family is Scotch/Irish through and through but when you grow up in Western New York you can’t help but pick up a wee bit of Polish influences.
This past week my mom and I took the boys to the Broadway Market in Buffalo. The name doesn’t sound Polish but don’t let that fool you. It is located in the heart of a Polish neighborhood and is a treasure trove of traditional baked goods, meats, wooden Easter eggs and pierogies! The sights and smells of the market get you ready for a wonderful Easter meal with family and friends.

broadway market 010 broadway market 014
We picked up some Placek from Chrusciki Bakery (I think that some grocery store in Lynchburg, VA needs to embrace its hidden Polish heritage so I can enjoy it more often!) and two adorable butter lambs. http://www.buffalobutterlambs.com
easter 2014 011broadway market 009easter 2014 010
We also made a quick stop at my favorite spice store in the whole world….Penzey’s!! (Yes, I am strange enough to actually have a favorite spice store and once you visit one near you, it will become your favorite too!) I thought I only needed cream of tartar and cocoa powder but cinnamon, ginger and cloves kept calling my name. Hmmm…gingersnaps may be coming to some lucky person soon. Seriously, look at http://www.penzeys.com to see if there is a store nearby. If not, sign up for their catalog. Not only will you be treated to a myriad of spices but some terrific recipes. (I got my stuffed mushroom recipe from there years ago)
broadway market 020broadway market 019
The kids and I left Western New York the day before Easter so that we could spend Easter celebrating Jesus’ resurrection with Dave and our church family at Thomas Road Baptist Church. We had a fun brunch with some friends celebrating with pussywillows and Polish eggs for decoration.
easter 2014 005easter 2014 007
If you didn’t know pussywillows went with Easter…time to google Dyngus Day!

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

