Wild Times…with animals and kids

We got an early start for our drive to Yellowstone National Park. It was a beautiful drive along the Madison River to the western entrance to the first National Park in the United States of America. I guess that a lot of other people had the same idea because the line to pay the park entry fee reminded me of Disney World!

I didn’t have too many things on my “must-see” list so we headed directly to Old Faithful. It may seem cliché but I really wanted to make sure that I saw the most famous geyser in the world. We arrived at the visitor center about 40 minutes before the next predicted eruption. That gave us some time to pick up the Junior Ranger booklet and find our seats for viewing. Old Faithful lived up to her name and blew with 4 minutes of the predicted time. Wow, does it shoot up high!

Junior Ranger swearing in

Junior Ranger swearing in


Old Faithful shows it's stuff

Old Faithful shows it’s stuff

By the time we finished at Old Faithful it was getting close to lunch time. (My boys think of food almost constantly) so we started back toward the other sight on my list. Grand Prismatic Spring. While researching this trip I had come across gorgeous pictures of this spring but I didn’t think that those pictures were taken from the boardwalk area that surrounds the Midway Geyser Basin. I looked on http://www.tripadvisor.com and found very specific directions for a hike that would take us to an overlook.

We parked at the Fairy Falls trail head and decided to have lunch around a “baby prismatic”. The kids made their sandwiches and headed around the baby hot spring to enjoy the warmth of the steam.

Our very own hot spring for lunch

Our very own hot spring for lunch


We headed up the large, easy and well-visited path. I started to wonder because my directions told me that very few people would take the same route we planned to. We continued to walk and then the unmarked path that I had read about became visible. No one else was heading up that way. A couple of girls were coming down and assured us we were on the right path. It was an extremely steep scrambled up a hill with loose footing but worth it! WOW!! A postcard type view. The reviewer on trip advisor was right….we saw only 3 other people at the top.

Grand Prismatic

Grand Prismatic

Dave wanted to drive around Yellowstone’s figure eight. The mileage didn’t look bad but he didn’t take into account slow moving traffic and bison crossings. Montana day 4 207
Montana day 4 255
Montana day 4 305
Montana day 4 224
Made for a LATE night but the kids were more civilized once we fed them!!! …..in Grand Tetons! Montana day 4 327

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Wild West and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

