A Grand Day in the Tetons

When I think of the Rocky Mountains, the soaring, jagged peaks are what I picture.

We pulled in to our cozy cabin in the Coulter Bay region of the Grand Tetons a little late in the evening to do any exploring so when I woke up early the next morning, I took a walk around the area and discovered this view just yards from our cabin!

Coulter Bay Village

Coulter Bay Village


Coulter Bay was a great place to stay. The cabins were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps and are wonderful. I wouldn’t call them posh by any stretch but we wanted the rustic experience with the convenience of our own bathroom! The area had a great general store/gift shop. (We met a great girl from Lynchburg working there for the summer) There were also laundry facilities (which I happily used) and showers for those that were tenting. The biggest plus in my mind was the National Park Ranger station.
Cozy beds

Cozy beds

Our home for a couple of nights

Our home for a couple of nights


As I was walking around that early morning, I stumbled upon a ranger standing outside of the closed visitor center with a sign “Coffee with a Ranger”. I had not had my coffee yet and happily got a cup from the carafe he had there. He told me about his favorite hike in the Grand Tetons and even went into the visitor center to give me the Junior Ranger booklets for the kids. What service!

We took Ranger Barry’s advice and drove to the String Lake Trail Head. It was a quiet 2 mile hike around Jenny Lake and then we got to the boat dock. People everywhere! Not our idea of fun but the hike up to Hidden Falls was worth the company. It was beautiful. We continued up to Inspiration Point and were rewarded with a spectacular view.

The hike around Jenny Lake

The hike around Jenny Lake

Jenny Lake

Jenny Lake

Hidden Falls

Hidden Falls

Grand Teton 160

Grand Teton 136
Our evening was capped off by dinner on our borrowed cookstove , a ranger program about bears and few slightly competitive games of UNO back at the cabin.

About amymapes

I am a mom with 3 kids who are growing up too fast. I love to bake and come up with hair-brained schemes that make my kids roll their eyes. We try to do lots of different things as a family....sometimes my kids even enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Wild West and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Grand Day in the Tetons

  1. nylonliving says:

    cool! We are going in August to Yellowstone/Grand Tetons and you’re post has made me even more excited!

Leave a Reply

